Videos: All 8 Premier League nine-dart finishes

Premier League nine-dart finishes, Adrian Lewis v Raymond van Barneveld.
Relive all 8 Premier League nine-dart finishes, after Adrian Lewis’ recent perfect leg v Raymond van Barneveld
Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Premier League nine-dart finishes

Adrian Lewis gave fans in Liverpool a real treat in Week 11 of the Premier League Darts, by throwing the sport’s 50th televised nine-dart finish across PDC and BDO tournaments.

It was also the first to be seen live in 2017, while it marked almost exactly a year since Jackpot managed the previous perfect leg in this competition.

Lewis is now level with Dutch giants Raymond van Barneveld and Michael van Gerwen on the all-time televised 9-darter list with five, but is still someway off Phil Taylor’s 11.

Barney was the victim on this occasion, and for the sixth time in total, and here’s footage of the incredible feat again.

Credit: PDC

Just eight Premier League nine-dart finishes have been thrown since the tournament’s inception in 2005, with Taylor (three times), Lewis, Van Barneveld (twice each) and Simon Whitlock being just four names of 28 total participants to have done so.

Read on to relive them all (in order of when they happened)!

Raymond van Barneveld v Peter Manley (2006)

Credit: PDC

It didn’t take long for Barney to make his mark on the PDC, hitting his and the Premier League’s first nine-darter just months after switching from the BDO.

The popular Dutchman announced himself onto the scene in perfect fashion, and beat three-time World Championship finalist Manley 8-3 along the way.

Barney sent the Bournemouth crowd and legendary commentators Sid Waddell and John Gwynne that day into ecstasy.

Raymond van Barneveld v Terry Jenkins (2010)

Credit: darts13

Van Barneveld was at it again four years later, this time against fellow crowd favourite Jenkins.

The venue was in Aberdeen, Scotland, on this occasion, and once again Barney was the victor (8-6), not letting his emotions get to him.

It was the start of three wins in a row at the end of the campaign for the Dutchman, but it was too little too late as he missed out on a play-off place.

Phil Taylor v James Wade (2010)

Of course Taylor had to get in on the action too, after seeing his old foe achieve a second Premier League 9-darter earlier in the competition in 2010.

And what better way to achieve the feat than to do so in the final?

Well The Power did just that in just the second leg, and there was more magic to come…

Phil Taylor v James Wade (2010)

Credit: CrackingDarts

This time, with the scores level at 7-7 (first to 10) in the same final, Taylor made history – yet again.

The Power became the first person ever to hit two nine-darters in a single match.

He eventually toppled defending champion Wade to claim his fifth PL title, in what was perhaps one of the best ever darts finals and moments in all of sport.

Only Van Gerwen has hit two perfect legs in match since, but the UK Open qualifier was not televised.

Phil Taylor v Kevin Painter (2012)

Credit: Adrian Tschykov

2012 was certainly a great year for televised nine-darters, with seven seen in total – more than any other.

Again in Aberdeen, Taylor was able to throw his third Premier League nine-darter against Painter on his way to an 8-5 triumph.

The Power was trailing 5-4 and a break behind at the time too!

Simon Whitlock v Andy Hamilton (2012)

Credit: PDC

In the same season, The Wizard conjured up a magical nine-darter of his own in the play-off semi-finals.

Like Taylor, Whitlock was a break down at the time, and against an in-form Hamilton, who was runner-up at the PDC Worlds earlier that year.

The 9-dart finish happened in just the second leg, and it trampolined the Australian on his way to winning 8-5.

Whitlock went on to lose in the final to Taylor, however.

Adrian Lewis v James Wade (2016)

Credit: Darts Planet

Poor Wade is the only person to be on the receiving end of a nine-darter in the Premier League multiple times – in fact no player has ever been the victim of a perfect leg more times than The Machine (seven).

It seems his former nickname 009 has come back to haunt him!

Lewis raised the Belfast crowd with his nine-darter to level the scores to 5-5, before then claiming the last two legs.

Adrian Lewis v Raymond van Barneveld (2017)

Credit: PDC

And finally, the most recent effort this year, and Lewis again.

On throw at the time, Jackpot’s second Premier League 9-darter was incidentally the 50th ever shown on TV.

The perfect leg broke Barney to lead 3-1 in Liverpool, and he eventually ran out a 7-4 winner to help his play-off chances.