Van Gerwen Retains German Darts Grand Prix Title

(Picture: PDC Europe)

Michael van Gerwen held off Peter Wright for the second week running to claim a 22nd European Tour title in Munich, extending his phenomenal record on the continent.

After surviving an early scare to edge out Irishman Steve Lennon 6-5 in the second-round, MVG moved through the gears on Easter Monday to dismiss former Lakeside finalist Alan Norris 6-1 in the last 16 before whitewashing 2014 World Youth Champion Keegan Brown in the quarter-finals.

Daryl Gurney was then no match for the World No.1 as he breezed into the final to face ‘Snakebite’. It proved to be a comfortable evening for van Gerwen – cruising to an 8-5 victory and recording his 30th consecutive win on European soil.

Usual Suspects

He was absent from the International Darts Open in September and hasn’t lost a game since Rob Cross felled him way back in July of last year in the round of 16 at the European Darts Open.

Peter Wright took both of those crowns and once again proved his European pedigree, recording the highest average of the tournament (108.84) in his quarter-final rout of Joe Cullen.

He once again defeated James Wade- in a repeat of their Leverkusen semi-final- en route to another runners-up spot.

Cross himself ran into Northern Ireland’s Gurney for the second time in 5 days, following their stunning Premier League 180 fest in Belfast last Thursday. Home hero Gurney was dragged over the line by incredible home support on that occasion and ‘Superchin’ prevailed once more in Munich to reach his first European semi-final since May 2017 in Gibraltar.

(Picture: Lawrence Lustig PDC)

Early Exits

7 of the top 16 crashed out on Sunday as the second-round became a graveyard for the seeded players.

Kim Huybrechts, Jelle Klaasen and Gerwyn Price continued their recent struggles with confidence – all failing to produce an average in excess of 90 in their respective defeats.

Welshman Price is in freefall at the moment, having lost 8 games on the spin across 5 different tournaments. His 6-1 loss to last years’ Challenge Tour Winner Luke Humphries followed relegation from the Premier League without registering a single win from 8 outings.

Having lost his cool with the crowd in recent weeks, ‘The Iceman’ now faces the humiliating prospect of a dead rubber fixture at Judgment night in Liverpool this Thursday.

But the biggest shock of the weekend came as Adrian Lewis blew a 5-2 lead to bow out in the first-round at the hands of Dutchman Yordi Meeuwisse. An improved overall performance from ‘Jackpot’ was not enough to avoid losing to a player ranked 105 places below him in the Order of Merit.

(Picture: PDC Europe)

Easter Resurrections

Two former World Youth Champions reminded everybody of their undoubted potential with some notable scalps at the Zenith events hall.

2015 winner Max Hopp delighted the home crowd with a stunning display of scoring to oust World No.6 Mensur Suljovic, whilst his predecessor Keegan Brown took care of ‘The Wizard’ Simon Whitlock.

Both tripped up at the quarter-final stage but have gained further vital experience in their development.

Experience is something another old stager certainly doesn’t require. Perhaps the most heart-warming story from Germany was the continued renaissance of 51 year-old Alan Tabern.

A former top 10 player in the Order of Merit and winner of 4 Pro Tour titles, ‘The Saint’ regained his Tour Card in January and has re-dedicated himself to the practise board in recent months.

The hard work is paying off as 2006 UK Open semi-finalist Tabern reached the last 16 of a European event for the first time in his storied career. He will have two further chances to continue the fairytale return this month, having qualified for the German and Austrian Opens.


PDC German Darts Grand Prix Results


Steve Lennon 6v4 Nathan Aspinall

Toni Alcinas 6v2 James Wilson

Keegan Brown 6v3 Maik Langendorf

Darren Webster 6v2 Jan Dekker

Johnny Clayton 6v5 Rene Berndt

Luke Humphries 6v2 William O’Connor

Ryan Meikle 6v2 Ryan Taylor

Stephen Bunting 6v0 Christian Goedl

Josh Payne 6v5 Michael Rasztovits

Alan Tabern 6v5 Jermaine Wattimena

Yordi Meeuwisse 6v5 Adrian Lewis

Steve West 6v2 Paul Rowley

Chris Dobey 6v4 Martin Schindler

James Wade 6v2 Madars Razma

Danny Noppert 6v3 Krzysztof Ratajski

Max Hopp 6v4 Rowby-John Rodriguez



Michael van Gerwen 6v5 Steve Lennon

Alan Norris 6v1 Toni Alcinas

Keegan Brown 6v4 Simon Whitlock

Darren Webster 6v5 Dave Chisnall

Rob Cross 6v4 Johnny Clayton

Luke Humphries 6v1 Gerwyn Price

Daryl Gurney 6v3 Ryan Meikle

Ian White 6v4 Stephen Bunting

Peter Wright 6v3 Josh Payne

Alan Tabern 6v5 Kyle Anderson

Joe Cullen 6v5 Yordi Meeuwisse

Steve West 6v3 Kim Huybrechts

Michael Smith 6v2 Chris Dobey

James Wade 6v4 Jelle Klaasen

Mensur Suljovic 6v4 Danny Noppert

Max Hopp 6v4 Mervyn King


Last 16

Michael van Gerwen 6v1 Alan Norris

Keegan Brown 6v5 Darren Webster

Rob Cross 6v5 Luke Humphries

Daryl Gurney 6v4 Ian White

Peter Wright 6v0 Alan Tabern

Joe Cullen 6v0 Steve West

James Wade 6v1 Michael Smith

Max Hopp 6v2 Mensur Suljovic



Michael van Gerwen 6v0 Keegan Brown

Daryl Gurney 6v3 Rob Cross

Peter Wright 6v1 Joe Cullen

James Wade 6v3 Max Hopp



Michael van Gerwen 7v3 Daryl Gurney

Peter Wright 7v3 James Wade


Michael van Gerwen 8v5 Peter Wright