Summer Series 5: In-Depth.

Peter Wright won Players Championship 13 on Sunday defeating Gerwyn Price 8-2 in the final as the PDC Summer Series came to a close and the full field for the Betfred World Matchplay was confirmed.

Wright, who was a beaten finalist on the opening day of the summer series, began the day with a bye into the 2nd round due to a number of withdrawals and was pictured marking during a 1st round match between Jelle Klaasen and Adam Hunt. He began his run by beating Klaasen 6-4 before comfortable wins over Darren Webster, who had fired in a perfect leg in his 1st round win against Kim Huybrechts, and Brendan Dolan to book his spot in the Quarter Finals. At that stage, he took on Premier League Star Nathan Aspinall, a player who Wright had lost to earlier in the week, and Wright got his revenge 6-5 to book his spot in the Semi Finals. At that stage, he took on a surprise Semi Finalist Wayne Jones, who was playing in his first ranking semi final in the PDC for 7 years. Wright saw him off 7-2 with a 109 average to book his place in the final against Price. 

The final began with back to back breaks of throw with Price breaking in the first leg in 15 darts before Wright broke back in the second in 14 darts. Wright then won 4 legs on the spin with winning legs in 16,15,14 and 11 darts respectively before Price picked up his 2nd leg in the seventh leg of the match in 21 darts. From there on in, Wright controlled the game by winning 3 legs on the spin in 13,15 and 14 darts respectively to take the title and deny Price for the 2nd time in a final this year on the Pro Tour and clinch his 3rd title of 2020 since being crowned world champion.

Price, who also received a bye into the second round as the number one seed, began the day with a (6-0) whitewash win against William O’Connor before ton plus average wins over Darius Labanauskas (113.1), Jose De Sousa (102), James Wade (102.3) and Devon Petersen (102.3) to reach the final, with Petersen averaging 113.5 and losing!

Unable to take the title but a good run going into the Betfred World Matchplay will certainly help and Price will be one of the firm favourites to take the crown later this month. 

There were also Quarter Finals runs for John Henderson and Scott Baker, both reaching the Last 8 for the first time this year. 

There were early exits again for the likes of Michael Van Gerwen, Gary Anderson, Michael Smith and Glen Durrant. Justin Pipe withdrew again due to an arm injury as well as Adrian Lewis, Luke Humphries and Jamie Lewis, who all pulled out for personal reasons. 

The field for the Betfred World Matchplay was confirmed with the draw being done shortly after Players Championship 13 concluded. It is unknown when the next Pro Tour weekend will be but follow the PDC’s social media and website for latest news and updates.  

Players Championship 13 

Last 16 

Gerwyn Price 6-5 Jose De Sousa

James Wade 6-3 Chris Dobey 

John Henderson 6-5 Mickey Mansell 

Devon Petersen 6-3 Daryl Gurney

Peter Wright 6-1 Brendan Dolan 

Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Dirk Van Duijvenbode

Scott Baker 6-0 Madars Razma

Wayne Jones 6-4 Mike De Decker

Quarter Finals

Gerwyn Price 6-1 James Wade

Devon Petersen 6-3 John Henderson

Peter Wright 6-5 Nathan Aspinall 

Wayne Jones 6-0 Scott Baker

Semi Finals

Gerwyn Price 7-6 Devon Petersen 

Peter Wright 7-2 James Wade


Peter Wright 8-2 Gerwyn Price