Summer Series 3: In-Depth.

In addition to the many news or story articles, Darts World offers its readers, we are keen to include those who like a bit more ‘meat on the bone’. Joe Williams’ daily Summer Series reports do just that:

MVG doubles up on Day 3 of the Summer Series

Michael Van Gerwen won Players Championship 11 on Friday with an 8-3 victory over Jose De Sousa in the final, making it two wins from three as the Summer Series continues.

The winner of PC9 on Wednesday, Van Gerwen began his run dropping just five legs in wins over Alan Tabern, Kim Huybrechts and Robert Collins to reach the last 16, where he took on multiple major winner James Wade and saw him off comfortably(6-2) with a 107 average to reach the Quarter Final. At that stage, which arguably turned out to be the day of the game, he defeated North-East star Chris Dobey (6-4) with the pair averaging over 106. In the Semi-Finals, he took on Jeff Smith, who was the finalist at the very first pro tour event of the year, and he saw him off comfortably 7-4 to set up a clash with De Sousa in the final.

The final began with De Sousa racing into a 2-0 lead, but Van Gerwen pegged it back by rattling off 6 legs on the spin which included two ton-plus checkouts (130 and 146) to go within two of victory. De Sousa did break the Dutchman’s throw in fourteen darts before Van Gerwen broke back in fifteen and would then throw for the match in the 11th leg. Another fourteen dart leg (on Double 14) sealed the victory and a 2nd Pro Tour title in three days for the World Number one.

De Sousa, who picked up two pro tour titles in his debut season in 2019, began the day with a 6-1 win over Adam Hunt and an average of 109 before seeing off Aaron Beeney (6-2), who had won his first match as a PDC pro in the previous round against Scott Waites. De Sousa reached the final with four consecutive ton-plus averages and some impressive wins over Danny Noppert, Gerwyn Price, Stephen Bunting, and Daryl Gurney. Unable to win the decider but the Portuguese star has ensured his place at the Betfred World Matchplay for the first time in his career later this month.

There was another Quarter Final run again for World Champion Peter Wright, who was denied by Jeff Smith, as well as Ian White who was whitewashed 6-0 at that stage by Daryl Gurney.

There were early exits for multiple world champions in Gary Anderson, Glen Durrant, Rob Cross and Adrian Lewis as well as PC10 winner Ryan Joyce, who was defeated by Darren Webster.

The Summer Series continues on Saturday with the penultimate event with Players Championship 12 taking place and the race for the Betfred World Matchplay heating up. Catch up with more ‘In-Depth’ reports from days one and two.

Players Championship 11
Last 16
Jose De Sousa 6-3 Gerwyn Price
Stephen Bunting 6-3 Ryan Murray
Daryl Gurney 6-1 Ryan Meikle
Ian White 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Peter Wright 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Jeff Smith 6-1 Mike De Decker
Chris Dobey 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Michael Van Gerwen 6-2 James Wade
Jose De Sousa 6-2 Stephen Bunting
Daryl Gurney 6-0 Ian White
Jeff Smith 6-3 Peter Wright
Michael Van Gerwen 6-4 Chris Dobey
Jose De Sousa 7-3 Daryl Gurney
Michael Van Gerwen 7-4 Jeff Smith
Michael Van Gerwen 8-3 Jose De Sousa