Success for Cross in Milton Keynes

Rob Cross sealed his second PDC title as he won Players Championship 12 in Milton Keynes.
Photo : Chris Dean

Rob Cross continued his terrific form in 2017 as he won his second PDC event of the year, which was Players Championship 12 over in Milton Keynes. The Hastings man has had an impeccable start to the year with his maiden PDC title a few months ago followed by three European Tour Quarter-Final out of three attempts. He has consistently reached the latter stages in the Players Championship events and has won nearly £50,000 in prize money despite it only being May. Cross has more or less guaranteed his place in all of the upcoming TV events such as the World Matchplay, World Grand Prix, Players Championship Finals and the big one – the World Darts Championship. Yesterday, at Players Championship 11 he went on to reach the Semi-Finals losing out to Peter Wright with a very impressive 109 average as Wright fired in an average of over 120.

He used that momentum going into Players Championship 12 this afternoon as he provided a number of breath-taking displays as he seen off Max Hopp 6-4, Tony Newell 6-1, James Wade 6-2. In the last 16, Cross put in a defiant display to sneak past Mensur Suljovic 6-4 as he averaged 101.08 and despite the big Austrian averaging over 104 Cross just had that bit extra to see him through. In the Quarter-Finals he faced a tough opponent in Darren Webster, Cross just used his confidence and momentum from the previous game to breeze past the Norwich-based Webster taking it 6-1. Rob faced off with the Belgian Kim Huybrechts in the Semi-Finals and it didn’t disappoint as Cross put in the performance of the day by quite a distance as he blown ‘The Hurricane’ away with a mind-blowing display taking the match 6-1 with a stunning 112.36 average with 75% on the doubles. Cross’ opponent in the final was Ian White, the match swung in and out of Cross’ favour as the match went with the throw in every leg. Within a blink of as 5-5 as Cross took out 76 with White missing a dart at the bull for the win. But the drama didn’t stop there as White went on to miss another four match darts and Cross took full advantage to seal his second PDC title. The victory in Milton Keynes has put Cross in third place in the PDC Players Championship order of merit just behind Peter Wright and Daryl Gurney. Also in today’s action Dave Chisnall hit a nine-dart leg in his match against Darren Webster in the last 32. It was the 19th nine-darter hit in 2017 so far.




Players Championship 12
Sunday May 21, Arena MK, Milton Keynes
First Round
Peter Wright (1) Bye
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Matt Clark
Andy Hamilton 6-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh (32)
Richie Burnett 6-4 Alan Tabern
Keegan Brown 6-4 Steve West (16)
Berry van Peer 6-3 Dennis Smith
Mark Webster 6-4 Steve Beaton (17)
John Michael 6-1 Ritchie Edhouse
Alan Norris (8) 6-0 Simon Preston
Wayne Jones 6-2 Ricky Williams
Chris Dobey (25) 6-3 Jeffrey de Graaf
Richard North 6-1 Brian Woods
Ian White (9) 6-5 Stephen Burton
Ross Twell 6-4 John Part
Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Terry Roach
Yordi Meeuwisse 6-5 Jim Brown
Michael Smith (5) 6-0 Martin Schindler
Ron Meulenkamp 6-4 Darren Johnson
Justin Pipe (28) 6-1 Matthew Dennant
John Bowles 6-4 Steve Hine
Vincent van der Voort 6-0 Stephen Bunting (12)
Andy Boulton 6-1 Robert Owen
James Wilson (21) 6-1 Diogo Portela
Bryan de Hoog 6-2 Luke Woodhouse
Benito van de Pas (4) Bye
Paul Rowley 6-2 Richie Corner
Jonny Clayton (29) 6-5 Vincent Kamphuis
Michael Barnard 6-3 Terry Temple
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-5 Cristo Reyes (13)
Jimmy Hendriks 6-2 Mike De Decker
Adrian Lewis (20) 6-2 Michael Rasztovits
Mickey Mansell 6-2 Simon Stevenson
Mensur Suljovic (2) Bye
Ryan Palmer 6-5 Sven Groen
Jermaine Wattimena (31) 6-3  Prakash Jiwa
Antonio Alcinas 6-2 Chris Quantock
James Wade (15) 6-2 Ryan Searle
Scott Taylor 6-3 Mark Walsh
Rob Cross (18) 6-4 Max Hopp
Tony Newell 6-5 Ted Evetts
Dave Chisnall (7) 6-1 Jan Dekker
Jamie Caven 6-4 Stuart Kellett
Darren Webster (26) 6-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Mick Todd 6-5 Jamie Bain
Daryl Gurney (10) 6-2 James Richardson
Aden Kirk 6-3 Jonathan Worsley
Robert Thornton (23) 6-5 Nathan Aspinall
Craig Gilchrist 6-5 Andy Jenkins
Kim Huybrechts (6) 6-2 Josh Payne
Wes Newton 6-4 Kevin Painter
Joe Murnan 6-5 Robbie Green (27)
Peter Jacques 6-1 John Norman Jnr
Joe Cullen (11) 6-5 Harry Robinson
Darron Brown 6-5 Ryan Meikle
Christian Kist (22) 6-2 Kirk Shepherd
Devon Petersen 6-5 Peter Hudson
Simon Whitlock (3) Bye
Ricky Evans 6-1 Scott Darbyshire
John Henderson (30) 6-5 Mark Barilli
David Pallett 6-2 Matthew Edgar
Mervyn King (14) 6-0 Jamie Lewis
Steve Lennon 6-4 Andrew Gilding
Paul Harvey 6-4 Kyle Anderson (19)
William O’Connor 6-1 Ronnie Baxter

Second Round
Peter Wright 6-0 Brendan Dolan
Andy Hamilton 6-4 Richie Burnett
Keegan Brown 6-1 Berry van Peer
John Michael 6-2 Mark Webster
Alan Norris 6-4 Wayne Jones
Richard North 6-3 Chris Dobey
Ian White 6-1 Ross Twell
Ronny Huybrechts 6-2 Yordi Meeuwisse
Michael Smith 6-4 Ron Meulenkamp
Justin Pipe 6-1 John Bowles
Andy Boulton 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
James Wilson 6-2 Bryan de Hoog
Benito van de Pas 6-5 Paul Rowley
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Michael Barnard
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-1 Jimmy Hendriks
Mickey Mansell 6-1 Adrian Lewis
Mensur Suljovic 6-4 Ryan Palmer
Antonio Alcinas 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
James Wade 6-4 Scott Taylor
Rob Cross 6-1 Tony Newell
Dave Chisnall 6-0 Jamie Caven
Darren Webster 6-2 Mick Todd
Daryl Gurney 6-5 Aden Kirk
Robert Thornton 6-4 Craig Gilchrist
Kim Huybrechts 6-1 Wes Newton
Peter Jacques 6-2 Joe Murnan
Joe Cullen 6-0 Darron Brown
Christian Kist 6-5 Devon Petersen
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Ricky Evans
David Pallett 6-5 John Henderson
Steve Lennon 6-2 Mervyn King
William O’Connor 6-4 Paul Harvey

Third Round
Peter Wright 6-2 Andy Hamilton
Keegan Brown 6-2 John Michael
Richard North 6-2 Alan Norris
Ian White 6-1 Ronny Huybrechts
Justin Pipe 6-1 Michael Smith
James Wilson 6-2 Andy Boulton
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Benito van de Pas
Mickey Mansell 6-5 Zoran Lerchbacher
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Antonio Alcinas
Rob Cross 6-2 James Wade
Darren Webster 6-3 Dave Chisnall – Dave Chisnall hits nine-dart finish
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Robert Thornton
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Peter Jacques
Joe Cullen 6-5 Christian Kist
Simon Whitlock 6-2 David Pallett
Steve Lennon 6-5 William O’Connor

Fourth Round
Peter Wright 6-2 Keegan Brown
Ian White 6-5 Richard North
James Wilson 6-1 Justin Pipe
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Mickey Mansell
Rob Cross 6-4 Mensur Suljovic
Darren Webster 6-5 Daryl Gurney
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Joe Cullen
Simon Whitlock 6-5 Steve Lennon

Ian White 6-3 Peter Wright
James Wilson 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Rob Cross 6-1 Darren Webster
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Simon Whitlock

Ian White 6-3 James Wilson
Rob Cross 6-1 Kim Huybrechts

Rob Cross 6-5 Ian White


Previous articlePlayers Championship 11 Update
Next article2017 Dubai Duty Free Masters: Preview
Tom is an experienced sports journalist, specialising and focusing on darts. Before joining Darts World, Tom had turned to journalism two years ago having launched his darts journalist website – back in 2015, initially as a hobby and a way to showcase his journalist skills. However, due to the ever-growing popularity of the site, he decided to keep it going and he has have managed to build Tungsten Stories into one of the largest darting sites in the UK and worldwide, whilst working for the DPA. On top of that, Tom has appeared on several radio stations discussing darts and has appeared on a few Podcast shows. Tom has also written for several newspapers discussing darts and write-ups on the progress of certain players. In early 2017, Tom joined the Junior Darts Corporation as their media man.