James Wade

James Wade

Name: James Wade
Nickname: The Machine
Walk-On Music: – Thin Lizzy – The Boys Are Back In Town
Date of Birth: 06/04/1983
Place of Birth: Aldershot
Home Town: Aldershot
Darts Used: 20g Unicorn
Website: www.jameswade.co.uk

James has established himself as one of the most successful players of darts’ modern era over the past decade with a string of major PDC triumphs to accompany his rise to the top of the sport.

The left-hander has won eight major titles and appeared in a host of other finals since giving up his former job as a mechanic to become a full-time professional in 2006, a year which also saw him land three nine-darters on the circuit.

The first two of Wade’s big titles came at the World Matchplay and World Grand Prix in 2007, as his trademark clinical finishing helped him to defeat Terry Jenkins in successive finals.

He has also picked up two UK Open titles, victory in the Championship League Darts and a second World Grand Prix, while victories in the 2009 Premier League and 2014 Masters will stand out forever amongst his achievements.

The runner-up in his debut Premier League season in 2008, he became the first player in the event’s history to defeat Phil Taylor on his debut in the tournament before losing out to his rival in the final.

He went all the way to glory the following season and also reached the 2010 Premier League final, when Taylor landed his historic two nine-darters in a narrow 10-8 win to deny Wade back-to-back titles.

Wade has been a revitalised force since taking victory in the Gibraltar Darts Trophy in 2014 – his first tournament success for three years – and followed by a famous double-start nine-dart finish as he reached the World Grand Prix final, with Michael van Gerwen denying him a third Dublin title.

October would also see Wade win a Players Championship title before he was crowned as The Master in November, making his famous comeback from 9-2 down to defeat Mervyn King 11-10 in an incredible final.

A strong first half of 2015 saw Wade accompany his Premier League return with two Players Championship victories, four other ProTour finals and a nine-dart finish.

He then continued his love affair with the World Matchplay by reaching his sixth Blackpool final, ending Taylor’s seven-year reign as champion in the process before he was denied the title by van Gerwen.

Wade also then won through to the Perth Darts Masters final, only to see his hopes of World Series of Darts glory dashed by Taylor.

Major Titles
World Matchplay: 2007
World Grand Prix: 2007, 2010
UK Open: 2008, 2011
Premier League Darts: 2009
Championship League Darts: 2010
The Masters: 2014

PDC Non-Televised Event Wins:
Irish Masters 2005
Vauxhall 128 Pro Classic 2006
UK Open North-West Regional Final 2007, 2009
UK Open Scottish Regional Final 2007
UK Open Welsh Regional Final 2007
Players Championship (Gibraltar) 2008
Players Championship (Holland) 2008, 2009, 2010
Players Championship (Scotland) 2008
Players Championship (East Midlands) 2009
UK Open Qualifier 2010
Players Championship (Germany) 2011
Players Championship (Benidorm) 2011
European Tour – Gibraltar Darts Trophy 2014
Players Championship (Crawley) 2014

Other Achievements:
Jocky Wilson Cup winner 2009 (England v Scotland with Phil Taylor)
Nine-dart finish at 2008 Grand Slam of Darts
Three nine-dart finishes on PDC circuit in 2006 – first player to do so

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.