Danish Darts Open – Preview. Smith Nurses Injury While Mensur Begins Defence.

An injured Micheal Smith will kick off his Danish Darts Campaign later this weekend. Smith is suffering from an injured ankle that has had to be strapped in order for him to take part.


MICHAEL SMITH and Steve Beaton will clash in the Danish Darts Open first round on Friday, while Mensur Suljovic will defend his European Tour title in Copenhagen this weekend.

World Championship finalist Smith had won through the qualifiers to compete in the £140,000 tournament in Copenhagen this weekend, having dropped down the ProTour Order of Merit.

The St Helens ace faces a tasty first round tie against Beaton, who is an ever-present on the European Tour in 2019 and also landed a nine-darter earlier this year.

World Cup finalists Steve Lennon and William O’Connor will return to action following last weekend’s success in Hamburg as they take on Dennis Nilsson and Luke Woodhouse respectively.

UK Open champion Nathan Aspinall plays Mick Todd, while three-time Lakeside Champion Glen Durrant meets Kevin Burness.

Former European Tour winners Vincent van der Voort and Mervyn King play Kirk Shepherd and Gabriel Clemens respectively.

New Zealander Cody Harris makes his European Tour debut against Teuvo Haverinen, while there is also the intriguing all-Polish clash between former World Cup team-mates Krzysztof Ratajski and East Europe Qualifier Krzysztof Kciuk.

Thursday’s Host Nation Qualifiers Per Laursen and Niels-Jorgen Hansen take on Reece Robinson and Ryan Harrington respectively.

Reigning champion Suljovic, who won the inaugural Danish Darts Open in 2018, opens his challenge in Saturday’s second round against Clemens of King.

Number one seed Ian White, who has won the last two European Tour events and reached four successive finals in 2019, will play Kim Viljanen or Martin Schindler.

World number two Gerwyn Price, six-time European Tour winner Peter Wright, Premier League stars James Wade, Gerwyn Price and Daryl Gurney and two-time World Champion Adrian Lewis also come into the event in round two on Saturday.

The tournament will then conclude on Sunday at the Brondby Hallen, with the third round in the afternoon session ahead of the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final in the evening session.

The Danish Darts Open will be streamed throughout the weekend through PDCTV-HD at video.pdc.tv, and through bookmakers’ websites worldwide listed at www.pdc.tv.

For tickets, visit www.pdc-europe.tv/tickets.

2019 Danish Darts Open

Draw Bracket (Second Round Onwards)

(3) Gerwyn Price v Niels-Jorgen Hansen/Ryan Harrington

(14) Stephen Bunting v Cody Harris/Teuvo Haverinen

(6) Peter Wright v Luke Woodhouse/William O’Connor

(11) Joe Cullen v Glen Durrant/Kevin Burness

(7) Rob Cross v Kirk Shepherd/Vincent van der Voort

(10) Ricky Evans v Steve West/Chris Dobey

(2) Daryl Gurney v Jose Justicia/Ryan Joyce

(15) Darren Webster v Jose De Sousa/Scott Taylor

(4) James Wade v Dennis Nilsson/Steve Lennon

(13) Jonny Clayton v Per Laursen/Reece Robinson

(5) Adrian Lewis v Mike De Decker/Kyle Anderson

(12) Simon Whitlock v Mick Todd/Nathan Aspinall

(8) Mensur Suljovic v Gabriel Clemens/Mervyn King

(9) Dave Chisnall v Krzysztof Kciuk/Krzysztof Ratajski

(1) Ian White v Kim Viljanen/Martin Schindler

(16) Jermaine Wattimena v Steve Beaton/Michael Smith

Schedule of Play

Friday June 14

First Round

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)   

Luke Woodhouse v William O’Connor

Mick Todd v Nathan Aspinall

Mike De Decker v Kyle Anderson

Per Laursen v Reece Robinson

Cody Harris v Teuvo Haverinen

Jose De Sousa v Scott Taylor

Jose Justicia v Ryan Joyce

Krzysztof Kciuk v Krzysztof Ratajski

Evening Session (1915 local time, 1815 BST)

Kim Viljanen v Martin Schindler

Glen Durrant v Kevin Burness

Niels-Jorgen Hansen v Ryan Harrington

Steve West v Chris Dobey

Gabriel Clemens v Mervyn King

Kirk Shepherd v Vincent van der Voort

Steve Beaton v Michael Smith

Dennis Nilsson v Steve Lennon

Saturday June 15

Second Round

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Stephen Bunting v Harris/Haverinen

Darren Webster v De Sousa/Taylor

Jonny Clayton v Laursen/Robinson

Dave Chisnall v Kciuk/Ratajski

Simon Whitlock v Todd/Aspinall

Joe Cullen v Durrant/Burness

Daryl Gurney v Justicia/Joyce

Ricky Evans v West/Dobey

Evening Session (1915 local time, 1815 BST)

Gerwyn Price v Hansen/Harrington

Rob Cross v Shepherd/Van der Voort

Peter Wright v Woodhouse/O’Connor

James Wade v Nilsson/Lennon

Adrian Lewis v De Decker/Anderson

Mensur Suljovic v Clemens/King

Ian White v Viljanen/Schindler

Jermaine Wattimena v Beaton/Smith

Sunday June 16

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Third Round

Evening Session (1915 local time, 1815 BST)




Format – All games up to and including the quarter-finals are the best of 11 legs, with the semi-finals the best of 13 legs and the final the best of 15 legs.

Host Nation Qualifier

Thursday June 13

FInal Round Results

Per Laursen 6-0 Dan Jensen

Niels-Jorgen Hansen 6-2 Bent Lambertsen

Full results: https://tv.dartconnect.com/matchlist/pdcnbhnq19et8