BDO World Darts Trophy announced

BDO World Trophy - dates announced.

The winners of the 2016 World Darts Trophy Darryl Fitton & Lisa Ashton.
Photo : David Gill / DG Media


The BDO have moved to alleviate any fears and quash the rumours gathering pace on social media that the World Trophy was to be cancelled by releasing a statement that the World Trophy will go ahead and will definitely take its place on the BDO darting calendar.

Players and fans were showing concern as it was rumoured that the BDO had said players would be free to do exhibitions on the usual weekend that the Trophy is scheduled causing concern in some quarters. Yesterday 12th April 2017, a statement read that they (the BDO) were delighted that the World Trophy would take place from Friday 26th May – Monday 29th May, with a switch from the fabled Lakeside venue to the Memo Arts Centre, Barry, Vale of Glamorgan.

Usual rules will apply with 32 men completing, consisting of the current top 16 ranked players seeded in the first round, joined by 16 others, including 9 from regional qualifiers from around the world and a chance for 3 more to join the event via the playoffs at Pontins, Prestatyn on Friday 12th May before the Welsh Open. 4 more qualifiers will be added from those highest ranked on the BDO table who have not qualified, including crowd favourites Brian Dawson and Andy Fordham.

The women’s event will be made up in a similar vein with the top 8 in the rankings to be seeded to be joined alongside 6 more ranked 9-14 in the table of merit, whilst 2 more will join the party from the previously mentioned qualifiers at Pontins. The event will see the return of former winner (2013) Anastasia Dobromyslova who returns to the oche after the birth of her son in February of this year.

Both the men’s and women’s current World Trophy holders will be back to defend their titles over the weekend, with Darryl Fitton and Lisa Ashton hoping to collect the titles once again. They will be up against a strong field as current BDO world champion Glen Durrant will be looking to add the Trophy to his list of accolades and the evergreen Deta Hedman will be aiming to live up to her number 1 seed status.

Full list of seeds – World Trophy


1 – Glen Durrant (Eng) 2 – Mark McGeeney (Eng) 3 – Jamie Hughes (Eng) 4 – Scott Mitchell (Eng) 5 – Dean Reynolds (Wal) 6 – Danny Noppert (Ned) 7 – Darryl Fitton (Eng) 8 – Wesley Harms (Ned) 9 – Ross Montgomery (Sco) 10 – Scott Waites (Eng) 11 – Darius Labanauskas (Lit) 12 – Martin Phillips (Wal) 13 – Martin Adams (Eng) 14 – Nick Kenny (Wal) 15 – Geert de Vos (Bel) 16 – Richard Veenstra (Ned)


1 – Deta Hedman (Eng) 2 – Lisa Ashton (Eng) 3 – Aileen de Graaf (Ned) 4 – Anastasia Dobromyslova (Rus) 5 – Corrine Hammond (Aus) 6 – Lorraine Winstanley (Eng) 7 – Trina Gulliver MBE (Eng) 8 – Sharon Prins (Ned)

As time of going to press no details have been officially released regarding any television coverage.