BDO Welsh Open 2017

BDO Welsh Open 2017Glen Durrant and Lorraine Winstanley emerged victorious from Pontin’s in Prestatyn with the men’s and women’s Welsh Open titles respectively, after a well contested tournament over the weekend.

Durrant, having seen off the challenge of Brian Dawson in the last 16, had to overcome Conan Whitehead and Scott Baker to claim his place in the final where he met Scott Waites, who had beaten Davy van Baelen, Cameron Menzies and Danny Noppert on his way to the final.

Durrant averaging 31.27 had too much for Waites in the showdown, winning by six legs to four, despite Waites having a chance to set up a deciding leg; just missing the bull, before Durrant claimed the crown on double 16 on his return to the oche. Durrant took the trophy and £5,000 prize money, going one better than last year’s runners up spot adding his second Welsh Open title to his roll of honour.

Lorraine Winstanley carried on her fine form of late by beating BDO world champion Lisa Ashton in the women’s final in a tense last leg decider. Winstanley picked off double tops to win 5-4 for the £2,000 purse, with a 27.84 average. Winstanley gained revenge on Ashton who had defeated her in the 2015 final by the same score.

Winstanley beat Sue Edwards in the last 16 before ending the challenge of Anastasia Dobromyslova and getting the better of Fallon Sherrock in the semi final. Ashton had taken the matches and gained her final berth with wins over Beau Greaves, Paula Jacklin and Trina Gulliver (MBE).

It was a weekend of runner up spots for Lisa Ashton who had to make do with being second best in the mixed pairs with Jeff Smith as they lost out to Richard Veenstra & Sharon Prins whilst also losing in the final of the ladies doubles with her daughter Danielle against Ann Marie Potts & Linda Ithurralde.

Beau Greaves, who had given women’s finalist Lisa Ashton a run for her money in the women’s event, narrowly losing 4-3 in the last 16, took the girls championship beating host nation Wales’s Jessica Bonner in the final. Scotland’s Nathan Girvan won the boy’s event with a victory over England’s Jack Vincent.