Autumn Series: Day 3 Review.

Michael Van Gerwen won Players Championship 16 on Monday in defeating Mensur Suljovic 8-1 in the final as the Autumn Series continues in Niedernhausen. 

Van Gerwen, who picked up two titles in July’s Summer Series, began the day with a 6-4 win over Former World Championship Finalist Andy Hamilton before wins over Reece Robinson and Dirk Van Duijvenbode saw him book his spot in the last 16. At that stage, he defeated fellow Premier League Star Glen Durrant 6-2 and his first ever victory over Duzza having failed to pick up a victory in their four previous meetings. At the Quarter Finals stage, he saw off Sunday’s PC15 winner Damon Heta, who beat Van Gerwen on the way to picking up his 1st pro tour title. Van Gerwen got revenge and saw him off 6-0 to reach the Semi Finals. At the Semi Final stage, he took on Nick Kenny, who was playing in his 1st ever Pro Tour Semi Final after winning his tour card in January. Van Gerwen saw him off 7-4 to set up a final clash with Suljovic. 

In the final, it was one-way traffic with Van Gerwen racing into a 3-0 lead before Suljovic hit a 15 darter to decrease the deficit to just 2 legs. Suljovic’s 15 darter turned out to be his only leg won in the match as Van Gerwen rattled off five legs on the spin to take the title and a 4th of 2020. 

Suljovic, who beat Van Gerwen in the final of the Austrian Darts Championship last year, began the day with a deciding leg win over Marko Kantele before a 6-2 win over Jan Dekker and then another deciding leg win, this time against Jeffrey De Zwaan to reach the last 16. At that stage, he defeated Premier League Star Daryl Gurney 6-0 with the Northern Irish ace averaging just under 74! At the Quarter Final stage, Suljovic defeated Reigning World Youth Champion Luke Humphries before a 7-3 victory over Ian White saw him book a spot in a final for the first time in almost a year. It wasn’t to be in the final for the World Number 14 but plenty of positives going into the final two days of the Autumn Series. 

Elsewhere, there was quarter final runs for Danny Noppert and Ross Smith and a Last 16 run for the very first time in the PDC for Lisa Ashton as she defeated Jamie Hughes, Alan Tabern and Boris Krcmar on route to that stage. 

There were early exits again for the likes of Adrian Lewis, Krzysztof Ratajski, Chris Dobey and Brendan Dolan. 

The Autumn Series continues on Tuesday with Day 4 of 5 as Players Championship 17 takes place with 128 players battling it out for the £10,000 first prize. 

Players Championship 16 

  • Last 16 
  • Luke Humphries 6-0 Keegan Brown
  • Mensur Suljovic 6-0 Daryl Gurney 
  • Danny Noppert 6-4 Nathan Aspinall 
  • Ian White 6-3 Jose De Sousa
  • Ross Smith 6-4 Joe Cullen
  • Nick Kenny 6-3 Lisa Ashton 
  • Damon Heta 6-4 Dave Chisnall 
  • Michael Van Gerwen 6-2 Glen Durrant
  • Quarter Finals
  • Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Luke Humphries
  • Ian White 6-3 Danny Noppert
  • Nick Kenny 6-2 Ross Smith 
  • Michael Van Gerwen 6-0 Damon Heta

Semi Finals

Mensur Suljovic 7-3 Ian White

Michael Van Gerwen 7-4 Damon Heta


Michael Van Gerwen 8-1 Mensur Suljovic

Pics: Taylor Lanning (Feature Pic L Lustig)